Home Europe BAE Systems launches Royal Navy’s fifth Astute-class attack sub Anson

BAE Systems launches Royal Navy’s fifth Astute-class attack sub Anson

HMS Anson launch
Photo: BAE Systems

BAE Systems has launched future HMS Anson, the fifth of seven Astute-class attack submarines it is building for the Royal Navy, at its site in Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria.

The 7,400-ton nuclear-powered submarine will remain at the site for further fitting out until 2022, when it is scheduled to start its sea trials.

The first four submarines in the class, HMS Astute, HMS Ambush, HMS Artful and HMS Audacious, have been handed over to the Royal Navy, with a further two boats currently under construction.

Anson was officially named at a ceremony in December 2020, after the 18th Century Admiral George Anson who delivered victory over the French at Cape Finisterre in 1747 and went on to reform the Admiralty. HMS Anson is the first submarine to bear the name, while eight naval vessels previously carried the name.

HMS Anson outside the Devonshire Dock Hall ahead of its launch on April 20, 2021. Photo: BAE Systems

The Astute-class submarines feature advanced nuclear technology which eliminates the need for the to ever be refueled. Crewed by 98 submariners, the Astute-class carry both Tomahawk Land Attack Cruise Missiles (TLAM) and Spearfish heavyweight torpedoes.

The 97 meter, 7,400-tonne Astute-class submarines are the most capable submarines ever built for the Royal Navy.

Working alongside the Submarine Delivery Agency and Rolls-Royce, BAE Systems is also a member of the Dreadnought Alliance, helping to deliver the UK’s next class of nuclear deterrent submarines. Two of the four submarines are under construction, with the first due to enter service in the early 2030s.